President Obama on Expanding Oil Production

Thoughts?

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Business, Environment, General, Politics, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Science, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to President Obama on Expanding Oil Production

  1. storydad says:

    I guess we will see how this plays out.

    It’s actually kind of what I like to see in governance… Neither side is dominating this play…. We will hopefully see more drilling and ultimatly production, and the tax breaks for the industry will be ended.

    I’m firmly in the school of thought that claims corporations don’t pay taxes. They simply mark them down on the ledger as cost of doing buisness, and add the taxes to what they charge us. There is no real way around this other than a level of regulation that sanity just should not allow.

    Of course, Politicians being what they are, they can’t do anything without adding yet another layer of buracracy to the pile. I’m happy to see mention of looking into speculators—though I doubt seriously anything will come of it other than another hole to toss goverment money into.

    Any way, my thoughts can be summed up as pretty much wait and see. How much will the drop in price from increasing supply be offset by the raise in price from increasing the cost of doing buisness and additional regulation? Only time will tell.

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      I guess we will see how this plays out.”

      Agreed. Hopefully, and maybe I’m being too optimistic here, it will all work out for the best.

      It’s actually kind of what I like to see in governance… Neither side is dominating this play…. We will hopefully see more drilling and ultimatly production, and the tax breaks for the industry will be ended.”

      Agreed. Obama is really more of a centrist than most people realize. He’s been trying to get a bipartisan thing going since he took office. One of the problems has been the constant rhetoric from the extreme right/tea party who’ve been stopping a lot of that cooperation.

      Don’t get me wrong. He’s not blameless in all this, but he’s reached out only to have his hand slapped back on more than one occasion.

      I’m firmly in the school of thought that claims corporations don’t pay taxes. They simply mark them down on the ledger as cost of doing buisness, and add the taxes to what they charge us. There is no real way around this other than a level of regulation that sanity just should not allow.”

      Again, agreed. I’m in favor of government regulation in certain industries. Nuclear power and environmental oversight, for example. I do not, however, want to see a bloated, all-powerful Government (note the capital “G,” there) to control everything.

      We would, I think, disagree on the level of regulation needed, with me saying more in more areas and you saying less across the board. That’s a guess, of course. I’ll write out my views and we can discuss it.

      Of course, Politicians being what they are, they can’t do anything without adding yet another layer of buracracy to the pile. I’m happy to see mention of looking into speculators—though I doubt seriously anything will come of it other than another hole to toss goverment money into.”

      *nods* I’d like to know a few more details of this. Like does this task force has prosecutorial powers or do they gather and report to DHS, FBI, or FTC? Where do they fall in the governmental scheme? That sort of thing.

      Any way, my thoughts can be summed up as pretty much wait and see. How much will the drop in price from increasing supply be offset by the raise in price from increasing the cost of doing buisness and additional regulation? Only time will tell.”

      Agreed. This may blow up in all our faces, sooner or later, or it could be The Thing that lowers gas prices and fixes everything. *shrug* We’ll see, I suppose.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  2. Skatha says:

    Considering no red-blooded American wants to release their hold on using gas as the main fuel and will continue to buy gas guzzling assholemobiles, I suppose the best option is to find our fossils here at home rather than relying on someone else’s.

    Like

  3. storydad says:

    Yeah, you can’t overlook the constant rhetoric from the left either. Neither side of that aisle is overly interested in cooperating with the other. It wasn’t until the dems lost a bunch of seats in congress that they even gave much lip service to bipartisianship.

    And I agree that Obama does seem a tad closer to center than most of his party… However he has also shown himself to be deeply and firmly embedded in liberal pockets, his own opinion not withstanding. He’s not shown much leadership, most of his presidency has been marked by calming words backed by extreme liberal agenda.

    That “stimulus” that marked him coming into office is a prime example. I can’t understand the logic of screaming about how much the wars were costing and that impact on the economy, and then ‘stimulating’ it by ramrodding every liberal pork pie that had been dreamed up in the last 30 years down our throats at a cost of over double what was being spent on the wars. Not that the republicans showed any restraint either, it’s just that the dem’s were in control so they got to decide what got through and what got cut. Ron Paul’s plan to basically end our military presence beyond our own borders seems sane by comparison.

    Like

  4. storydad says:

    Honestly, it actually matters very little who’s fossil fuels we use… all of it gets traded on the open market. We are the world’s largest importers of oil, and 3rd largest exporters. How does that make sense?

    In a way, it almost makes me wish the govt. would privatize the oil industry the way Venezula has, to prevent that sort of idiocy. Why in the hell would we sell our oil if we are having to buy it to meet our own needs.

    I don’t think americans are ‘addicted to oil’. I think we are addicted to cheap energy, and that the sellers of oil, like any good pusher, are aggressivly defending their territory. If someone made a wind-up car that would get me to work with the same level of performance that my car does, I’d use it. The fact that anyone that does develop such a thing leaves town immediatly keeps me using gasoline.

    I saw a breakdown a few years ago for where money comes from for the anti-nuclear lobby, and almost a quarter of it was from organizations that lobby in favor of the oil companies. Nuclear is, even considering the price of storage for the waste, the cheapest way currently available to generate electricity, by a fair bit. Even the bulk of the waste is fairly easy to treat and return to the environment—most of it is in the form of the coolant which can be dealt with. The spent radioactives make up a relativly small mass which depletes very slowly.

    The main problem with alternative energy is that our infrastructure was built from the ground up to be supported by cheap energy. Other countries can look at what we have done and do better because they have our example to learn from. This means that they in turn get looked at by us, and we now want to copy their more efficient systems—but it’s easier to paint on a clean canvas than it is to rework a finished picture without destroying the image.

    As a personal example, I work pretty close to where I live. Much, much closer than average for the area in fact. It only takes me about 12 minutes to get from my driveway to the wastewater plant in my car. The same trip would probably take me close to an hour on a bicycle, and probably 1.5 hours on foot, if not more. If someone would sell me an electric car for a reasonable price and at a reasonable quality level for that price, I’d jump on it in a heartbeat. But the only electric cars on the market that I’ve seen in the area cost as much as a luxury car a size catagory bigger than the electric car, and the electric car has the trim of a stripped down economy model. I don’t demand luxury, but I do require value for my dollar.

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

