Declaration of Intent (Progress Report)

Back on 2 January, I posted a list of Declarations (read: New Year’s Resolutions). I think NYR are fine, but, most people take them to be something of a joke; something we all say we are going to do, but then wink and say “Whatever!” Not I. I’m taking them seriously.

Here, then, is an update about how I am doing with those Declarations. But first, take a moment to review the original post here.

Finished? Read on, then!

1.) To live a life free of the guilt and shame of others in regards to my own personal choices (or those actions by which are required for my own mental health);

In progress. I’ve made great strides in upholding this Declaration, though, I admit, I’ve stumbled a bit with it.

2.) To remove anyone from my life who lays such guilt or shame on me in a manner not consistent with the ideals and accepted social conventions of “friendship;”

Continuing. I’ve already freed myself from those persons who, for whatever deluded reasons, thought they had some sort of hold on my life, and I am much better off for having done it, thank you. This is an ongoing project.

3.) To exercise to obtain the desired weight of no more than 190 lbs;

Progress on this Declaration has stalled a bit, but we are working on it with great care and, hopefully, it can be resolved successfully.

4.) In accordance with Resolution Three, to alter my dietary intake to facilitate the loss of undesired weight to obtain the desired weight of 190 lbs;

In progress. Pasta is good, though. 😉

5.) To obtain gainful employment;

In progress.

6.) To obtain a rapport with a mental health professional to treat depression, and certain other conditions not enumerated herein, preferably through any gainful employment, as obtained in Resolution Five. Should this not be possible, then obtained independently of any gainful employment insurance (if any);

Contingent on resolving Declaration Five. It has been proven that there is no way to resolve this Resolution, except through Declaration Five.

7.) To accept the Person I know myself to be and to let that Person shine through more than was evidenced in the previous calendar year. It is acknowledged in this Declaration that the Person so noted is beautiful and deserves equal time to shine;

In progress, everyday!

8.) To be more patient with others;

In progress, though there are times I want to choke the living shit out of some people.

9.) To create for myself the ideal environment to foster self-growth and self-exploration;

In progress, despite the naysayers and haters.

10.) To complete the outstanding literary works which, in past calendar years, have been begun, then abandoned. With this Resolution, I acknowledge my own failure to complete the Works and take full responsibility for said failure. It is further resolved that, at minimum, one proposal will be forwarded to a publishing company for their consideration by the end of the 2011 calendar year;

Completed. A short story was sent to a magazine a 12 days ago. Updates regarding this Resolution will be forthcoming as new information is received.

Well, that’s where I stand at the moment.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in 101 Things About Me, Athena Worship, Blog Related, Entertainment, General, Old Friends, Pagan Interest, Personal, Philosophy, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Religion, Shamanism, Social Observations, Unfolding Revelations, Wicca and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Declaration of Intent (Progress Report)

  1. WonderGoon says:

    I said: “In progress, though there are times I want to choke the living shit out of some people.”

    *monotonous voice tone on* No, I don’t actually want to choke people. Do not take this seriously. This is not a threat or terroristic statement. Please think before you overreact to this comment. If you can’t think, please shut off the internet and go play with your toes. Thank you. *monotonous voice tone off*

    Like

  2. storydad says:

    *Looks up from his toes* Huh? But I like chokeing people….

    On a more serious note:

    I wish you great success on those. I’d say you are going through a rough patch…but that patch is proving to be more of a county, perhaps a state. I wish I had a way to help you.

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

