Thoughts

Opening Thoughts About DADT
I’m a bit behind on the news and my thoughts about same. Today’s post will deal with the repeal of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell.” I’ve expressed my opinion on this discriminatory law elsewhere on this blog, and, as I am sure you can tell from my calling it ‘discriminatory,’ that I am in favor of this law being repealed. You would not be wrong to believe that.

However, that said, now that the law is slated for the Presidents signature tomorrow, 22 December 2010, my concern now turns to those defenders of our freedoms who this law directly affects.

There are those in the military that didn’t want this law to be repealed. My concern is that they will take action to harm gays and lesbians who’s only concern is serving this country and doing their jobs. I fervently hope that the military police and JAG (Judge Advocate General; military lawyers) are prepared to investigate reports of violence against gay and lesbian soldiers.

Net Neutrality
According to Yahoo! (Source: Divided FCC adopts rules to protect Web traffic) the FCC has defended Net Neutrality. These policies will prevent Internet providers, like Comcast, from blocking services like Netflix, which they did earlier this year.

I think this is a good thing, since it allows for the freedom of choice for the consumer and prevents consumer gouging by corporations. Though the two Republicans on the FCC clearly don’t agree, they will just have to deal with it.

The 2010 Winter Solstice Lunar Eclipse
There was a lunar eclipse. You might have seen it. If you didn’t, here’s a video of it.

Wow.

Friendship, Or Lack of Same
I’ve heard it said that a friend is someone who knows you completely and likes you anyway. I would expand on that and add that if you are involved in a highly specialized hobby, such as role-playing games, then a friend is someone who respects your style of game mastering and doesn’t argue with you when you’ve clearly explained your viewpoint. Presenting alternate ideas? Sure. But steadfastly refusing to bow to the logic of your argument? No. That’s just stupid.

Subscribers
It seems of late that I’ve picked up a few subscribers. If you are one of them, a HUGE thank you to you. It’s always great to have regular readers and I hope I prove worthy of being in your email box every time I post something. Your feedback is always welcome.

That’s It. For Now.
Well, that’s about all I’ve got for now. Hope everyone is well and has a great holiday season, regardless of how you celebrate it.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Business, General, Old Friends, Personal, Politics, Social Observations, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you have to add to the discussion?

