Topics: Jenna Talackova, Celebrity Deaths, Obama Comes Out

Sometimes it irritates me to no end that I cannot come up with anything to say. With all that’s going on in the world, the good and the bad, you’d think I’d have something to say about it.

JENNA TALACKOVA
About the only thing going through my head at the moment is Jenna Talackova. (An article about her in People: Transgender Miss Universe).

My thoughts are thus:

First, I think it’s AWESOME that a transwoman got to compete in the Miss Universe pageant. I hope this trend continues, despite the naysayers and bigots.

Photos of Jenna: Vancouver Sun Photo Gallery

She’s a beautiful woman. It doesn’t matter a whit to me that she was born male. I don’t even know her former name and I don’t care what it was. Her name is Jenna. That’s all I need to know.

Congratulations, Ms. Talackova, on breaking the glass ceiling for the Trans community and on your award of Ms. Congeniality.

Moving on. . . .

CELEBRITY DEATHS

What is going on? Whitney Houston, Adam Yauch, Maurice Sendak, Vidal Sassoon, Donna Summer, and Robin Gibb, to name a few. (More here: Deaths in 2012)

The old adage is that celebrities die in threes. Well, there’s six right there. Four of them musicians.

I don’t honestly think there’s a conspiracy or anything. I just find it odd that so many musicians would die so close together.

Whatever my personal thoughts about the timing, my heart goes out to the families in their time of need. I hope the media gives them room to grieve in this troubling time. Peace be with you all.

POLITICS

President Obama finally came out in support of same-sex marriage. Awesome. But saying you support something is one thing, acting to support something is altogether different. Let’s see some influence on the state level, Mr. President. Let’s act to make sure that every American gains the full benefit of our civil liberties.

CLOSING THOUGHTS

That is what drew my attention in the past few days. What drew yours? Let’s hear it in the comments.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, General, GLBT, Philosophy, Politics, Science, Social Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Topics: Jenna Talackova, Celebrity Deaths, Obama Comes Out

  1. Skatha says:

    Well I’d say you found plenty to talk about. 😛

    Celebrity deaths? Meh. They’re people just like the rest of us. With triumphs and failures just like the rest of us. The only difference is that they’re displayed on a pedestal for the world to see and admire and fawn over. Frankly I’m sick of it. Yes it’s tragic that they’ve died, in some cases younger than we imagine that they should, but in a lot of cases (I’m not pointing fingers) they brought it on themselves. It’s not true in every case, certainly, but in a lot of them. I’m just fed up of seeing celebrities paid far too much money so they can do shit like this and then their deaths are some big tragedy. It pisses me off to no end that teachers are paid a fraction of what these people are paid and if they die tragically early, no one cares.

    Okay I’m off my soapbox. 😛

    As for le President and his “gayness,” as you said, seeing will be believing. It’s time to put your money where your mouth is. Put actions to your words. I saw this morning on Yahoo! UK that they are going to start offering FREE IVF to gay and lesbian couples in the UK. http://uk.lifestyle.yahoo.com/gay-couples-and-women-over-40-to-get-free-ivf-treatment-on-nhs.html We will always lag behind because of the bible thumpers who rule this country.

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      Sadly, I think you have the right of it, Skatha. I’m not sure when The Church became the fourth branch of government, but I’m in favor of reducing that area of government completely.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

