An Open Letter to Corporate Support Divisions

Dear Corporate Support Employees,

First off, I want to say, I appreciate the, often, hard work you do in keeping your various companies products running. Some of you, particularly those who haven’t outsourced your support jobs to India or other countries, deserve praise.

I do have a complaint that I want to vent and rant about discuss, however. The trend of placing a limit on user feedback, usually 140 characters. Please note, that some of us, like myself, prefer to provide to companies a detailed report when I have a problem.

For example, I recently had an issue with my Samsung Intensity II cell phone. When I tried to contact Samsung’s support, through their website, I was left with the only option of contacting them through that waste of fucking time, Twitter.

I did contact them and Mary (the representative) was quite helpful, though it took close to 15 tweets each to be told the phone’s limitations were intentional. (I.e. design flaws).

The same conversation could’ve been solved with two emails.

Just a few minutes ago, I was faced with the same problem with Mozilla Firefox. It seems that greed inducing cults corporations truly don’t care about their customers, anymore. If, in fact, they ever did care about them beyond the contents of their wallets.

If the people running your departments were smart, which I know they’re not they would have long ago realized that people like you have a job because people like me need help with the garbage products your companies produce.

So, do me, and yourselves, a favor and let’s go back to using email for customer support, mmmkay?

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Business, General, Personal, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Science, Social Observations, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Open Letter to Corporate Support Divisions

  1. storydad says:

    To make dollars, they loose all sense.

    Why spend money on a website support structure when they can use ‘free’ services like twitter? Why do they care if you are not the type to sign up to the social networking sites who turn around and sell your info to all the bidders, not just the highest?

    The outsourced support issue is another beast altogether. I liked Clinton as a President for the most part. I wish he’d have just said “I smoked it” rather than “just inhaled”. I wish he’d have just said “none of your damn buisness who I stick it in” rather than put up with the whole sex scandal thing and lieing about it to give the grumblers something to talk impeachment about. I really wish he’d have vetoed NAFTA.

    Tarrifs exist for a reason. They are a good source of income for the government and help regulate our internal economy against outside forces. They promote employment among our own, while not raising our tax on everyone—the taxes get paid by those who choose to purchase foriegn goods and services.

    Democrats have a big heart and want to save the world. Too bad they suck at finance. They just need to figure out that you first have to take care of yourself before you can take care of anyone else.

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      To make dollars, they loose all sense.

      Why spend money on a website support structure when they can use ‘free’ services like twitter? Why do they care if you are not the type to sign up to the social networking sites who turn around and sell your info to all the bidders, not just the highest?”

      Yeah, I guess it’s cheaper, but it certainly doesn’t help with building a repeat customer base. I predict that the rise of shifting customer service to Facebook and Twitter (and all the other myriad social networking sites) is going to turn around and bite the corps in the ass, one day.

      You heard it here, first. 😉

      The outsourced support issue is another beast altogether. I liked Clinton as a President for the most part. I wish he’d have just said “I smoked it” rather than “just inhaled”. I wish he’d have just said “none of your damn buisness who I stick it in” rather than put up with the whole sex scandal thing and lieing about it to give the grumblers something to talk impeachment about. I really wish he’d have vetoed NAFTA.”

      Actually, he said he didn’t inhale. Which is utter bullshit, in my completely not-there-nor-do-I-have-insider-information-or-know-anyone-who-was-there opinion.

      Democrats have a big heart and want to save the world. Too bad they suck at finance. They just need to figure out that you first have to take care of yourself before you can take care of anyone else.”

      Democrats could do a better job at finance. However, that said, since the current batch of Republicans are only interested in pushing their social conservatism down our collective throats while completely ignoring the creation of jobs, all the while providing tax breaks for oil companies and the top 2% of the country, comparatively, the Democrats are doing a better job, at the moment. Not a good job, mind. They’re doing a better job in that they aren’t ignoring the creation of jobs, like the Republicans are.

      You may now attack me on this point.

      Like

  2. storydad says:

    Attack you? Hardly. I am pissed at the whole auditorium, not just one side of the isle.

    I actually dislike that they call their agenda ‘conservative’. It is religious extremeism of a widely accepted religion, which makes it seem less bad unless you are not one of the majority that follows that religion. Given the many crackpots that do follow it, everyone should probably take a look at their own values and insure that they want to live with what is being preached and teached.

    I don’t know about the creation of jobs thing. What’s good for buisness creates jobs. That is a no-brainer. I think socially we need to adjust what we are willing to do. Jobs are out there, people are sneaking over the border every day to do what we won’t.

    I can’t say that either side is good for buisness however. Tapping domestic oil reserves would reduce fuel prices, and that would be good for buisness all around, except for those who’s profits rely on getting a percentage of the purchase price—like the government. You once wrote that the oil companies should be prevented from making more than a 15% profit from gasoline sales. The thing is, everything I read puts their profits currently at between 2% and 8%, with an average of around 3% in most reports. The taxes on gasoline are far higher than that. The oil companies may be getting a tax break on production, but the price per gallon is anywhere from 28 to 60 cents higher per gallon, depending on where you are on taxes alone.

    Democrats are creating jobs with exactly the same technique that you disapprove of with the oil companies—by artificially subsidising various pet projects. This is not good for buisness as a whole, just the individual things that are being funded. In fact, the ‘stimulus’ in many cases is counter productive, both because of the rampant spending with no return it represents, and by floating buisnesses short term and encouraging the same failing practices that put us in the hole in the first place.

    But that is a bipartisian problem… both sides are fueling their own little pet projects, and ignoring the fact that we are losing ground on the international level because we are failing to adapt with our competition.

    Like

  3. WonderGoon says:

    You once wrote that the oil companies should be prevented from making more than a 15% profit from gasoline sales. The thing is, everything I read puts their profits currently at between 2% and 8%, with an average of around 3% in most reports.”

    Would you please cite your sources? I’d like to read those reports myself.

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

