Where I find Acceptance

Scott Berkun suggested this topic for the Postaday/week 2011 Challenge. Here’s my answer. Thanks for the topic, Scott!

Where do you find acceptance? For your ideas? For the secret notions you have for who you really want to be? Or think you are? Who are the friends, family or co-workers who are most accepting of your true self?

To make answering these question easier, I’m going to break them down individually. Here goes. . . .

Where do you find acceptance?

Broadly, nowhere, I guess. I mean, I’m “accepted” in my circle of friends, but I’m an outsider, at best at this point. I don’t perceive that I’m terribly well thought of, though, I acknowledge that I might be wrong about that.

For your ideas?

Here, I suppose. I mean, I’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback for certain things I’ve said here. Whether that translates directly to “acceptance of ideas,” in the broader sense, I don’t know. I prefer to think my ideas are merely tolerated.

For the secret notions you have for who you really want to be?

Maybe deviantArt? Or a few other places around the web where I’ve put that part of me out there. I don’t feel true acceptance on Facebook. Truthfully, though, I don’t think I’d put that part of me out there on Facebook. I don’t trust Facebook that much.

Or think you are?

I know who I am, so this question is irrelevant.

Who are the friends, family or co-workers who are most accepting of your true self?

No one, as no one really knows who I am. They only really see the mask I choose to show them. If they’ve figured it out, (I have dropped some rather obscure hints), none have mentioned it.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in General, Personal, Philosophy, Politics, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Social Observations, Unfolding Revelations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you have to add to the discussion?

