If I Was the President of the USA, Part Two

Yesterday, I outlined what I would do were I elected to be the President of the USA. I left off yesterday’s post saying that is all I could think of to do. Well, I thought of a few more items I would address were I the president.

(Continued from yesterday’s post).

12.) Repeal the USA Patriot Act and change the name of the Department of Homeland Security to The Federal Law Enforcement Department (FLED, for short). It’s mission would be to coordinate information between federal, state, and local agencies only. It would have no direct law enforcement powers of its own.

13.) Require all law enforcement agencies to obtain a search warrant for any information sought from a suspect (or a citizen) and respect and follow the Constitution while doing so.

14.) Limit the power of advertisers (and social networking sites) to intrude on the private lives of citizens. This includes forbidding the rental, sale, or leasing of any information on consumers, such as, but not limited to, name, address, home or cell phone numbers, consumer preferences, or any other information that the consumer wouldn’t want shared with either a government agency or corporation. In other words, a citizen’s information belongs to that citizen and not any government or corporate entity, except as required by law. (Required by law covers things like social security numbers, which are issued by the government, tax rolls, census information, and that sort. Any thing else is off-limits).

Institute an “opt in” advertisement list for those who want to see ads or be contacted by telemarketers.

15.) Decriminalize the possession of up to an ounce of marijuana, as this would be for personal or medicinal use only. Anything more is intent to distribute and/or trafficking and the usual penalties apply.

16.) Uphold Roe v. Wade.

17.) I’ve expressed my views on immigration before, so I won’t go through them again. Nothing has really changed on that front, so my presidential policy would remain as outlined in the link provided.

18.) I’d invest in infrastructure to create more jobs and provide tax cuts for corporations who are actively investing in green/alternate energy.

19.) I’d buy every American a bike so they can get to work (or exercise) without having to use fossil fuels. Hey, if the government can buy everyone the means to watch digital TV, then we can afford to buy everyone a bike.

20.) Banks and financial institutions would be required to submit to regulation or have their assets seized and sold off to their competitors. This is designed to stop predatory lending and prevent another housing bubble from bursting all over the place.

21.) NASA would get the funds they need to develop new technologies and take the human race to Mars. An emphasis on science would be put in place in our public schools. (Private schools will not receive public money).

At the same time, private companies who develop technologies to take us into space would receive tax cuts to foster free-market competition.

22.) No religious institution (of any stripe) will be considered a non-profit corporation. They will have to pay taxes.

Now, I know that I will never be elected president. I don’t have the money to run, so no worries that any of this will ever happen.

Unless I win the lottery. . . .

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Business, Christianity, General, Islam, Personal, Philosophy, Politics, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Religion, Science, Social Observations, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I Was the President of the USA, Part Two

  1. Sonny Jim says:

    What a great post. If you were running for president, I would vote for you. Though your list is pretty comprehensive, I think you left out a couple of key points.

    First and foremost, you would have to eliminate all forms of lobbying. Otherwise you wouldn’t be able to implement most of the things on your list. Big oil is a tough group.

    And second, I think eliminating or nationalizing the Federal Reserve system would be a good idea. Those guys have way too much money, power and control.

    #’s 12 and 15 were my favorites, though the entire list was excellent.

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Jim.

      I agree that the big oil lobby is powerful, but completely removing lobbying of all types wouldn’t be the right move, in my opinion. To me, lobbies are the embodiment of the 1st Amendment; the right to petition the government for a redress of grievances. Thus, they are required. (See Right to Petition for more information).

      Now, if we were to limit their power in some way, then that might be acceptable, so long as the rights of the people are not stepped on. Honestly, though, I don’t see that happening in the near future.

      I’m not sure about eliminating the federal reserve. I’ll have to do more research in that direction. I agree they need more oversight, though.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  2. storydad says:

    The Federal Reserve should not be in the hands of civilians period. Research the Federal Reserve only if you want your blood to really start to boil.

    Lobbying in it’s current form is bribery plain and simple. Remove the money and gifts so that you get an actual forum for the addressing of grievances.

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      Lobbying in it’s current form is bribery plain and simple. Remove the money and gifts so that you get an actual forum for the addressing of grievances.”

      Right. Which is why I said it needs to stay, but be altered to allow citizens to exercise their rights, but not allow politicians to sell votes. Essentially removing the money from the equation.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

