The Power of Invisibility

A question was asked, what would I do with the power to turn invisible for the day?

Setting aside the actual physical invisibility that the suggestion refers to, for a moment, I would argue that I am already invisible in social situations. Don’t feel sorry, though, since I prefer to be on the fringe of any conversation or social gathering. “A part of, but apart,” is my personal motto when it comes to such things.

This is not to say that I do not participate in certain social conventions when expected to do so, though I will always wait for an express invitation before making an appearance. I don’t do this to be rude, you understand, I do it because I prefer to avoid awkward social interactions. (For me, virtually all social interaction is awkward). For example, weddings, funerals, and birthday parties are among those social conventions where the rules of “friendship” dictate an appearance, though I don’t appear simply to meet those social expectations. I like my friends, therefore I want to show my support for their decisions or pay my last respects. Or simply help them celebrate becoming a year older, were that the case.

See, awkward.

The question, though was asking about physical invisibility and what I would do with it. Assuming I had the power to make invisible anything I picked up, I think I would use it for personal gain.

It’s probably wrong of me to think of doing bad things and breaking the law, but such an opportunity to gather a few items that I, in my estimation, need, would be too good to pass up.

Perhaps, to balance the scales, I’d do something more altruistic such as infiltrate the lair of a gang to record them discussing their latest crime, for the police. Or trailing a suspect to see if s/he leads me to the kidnap victim the police are searching for.

Maybe my actions would reflect in some other fashion. Perhaps I’d get into places where reporters couldn’t go and snap some photographs of war crimes to expose the atrocities and spur some action to stop them.

Of course, this invisibility field would have to dampen sound as well. That or I’d need to steal a quiet camera.

So, that’s what I’d do. What would you do?

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in General, Personal, Philosophy, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Science, Social Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Power of Invisibility

  1. storydad says:

    I can’t say I’d find invisability all that useful, even if it came with all sense groups.

    I absolutly despise secrets, and will become highly angered if I find they are being kept from me. I feel a need to be ‘in the loop’ concerning my friends and family. I am not, however, all that nosey. So the spying aspects would be useless to me.

    I could see using it to steal. I don’t feel that thinking of yourself makes you bad, though an argument can be made for improving yourself at the expense of others. I would likely do the same, at least to some extent—for best results, probably walking away with a bag or 3 from an armored car. Even so, beyond paying the bills, money is useless. I’m pretty much on the edge of that, so don’t feel a pressing need there. It would be nice to get out of debt, so one or 2 bags would probably do me, and again the power becomes useless.

    I suppose if I was a different person… A soldier perhaps, or something a little less honest or savory than my current profession, there would be more use for it.

    Like

  2. Skatha says:

    I think I would find the same uses for invisibility as both of you gentlemen. Of course I think it goes without saying that one would hope that no only would sounds be muffled, but also that anything you touch would become invisible as well. I mean it’s all well and good to want to take something for yourself, but your purpose is defeated if all authorities have to do is follow the floating bag of money or floating “blob” of jewels to your home (or lair :D).

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

