I Want to be an Overachiever

Overachiever: n 1. to perform, especially academically, above the potential indicated by tests of one’s mental ability or aptitude. 2. to perform better or achieve more than expected, especially by others. (from Overachiver).

I’m doing several things to improve myself. I’m trying to learn CSS, to not only improve my blog here at WordPress, but to make myself more marketable on the job front.

I also want to sharpen my HTML skills, which, to be honest, are lacking in some areas. I remember being in school and learning HTML when it was new. Technology, however, has passed me by.

I’m also trying to learn German. Realistically, Spanish is probably a better choice to learn, but I’ve always had an interest in German, so I’m using a German language CD pack I bought to learn it. (Come to think of it, I think I have a Spanish CD around here somewhere, too. I should hit that up after I start to feel comfortable with German).

Learning new languages is also going to expand my job opportunities, as well. Putting Bi-lingual German and Spanish on my résumé should increase my chances of getting a job, I should think.

I know it’s probably best to learn another language from a native speaker and not a CD, but I don’t know any native German or Spanish speakers. Finding someone who can teach me Spanish is going to be easier, but I don’t have the money to pay anyone and I certainly don’t expect for them to teach me without compensation.

So, good luck to myself, and here’s hoping I can (according to definition 2, above) overachieve some.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in General, Personal, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Social Observations, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Want to be an Overachiever

  1. Skatha says:

    I admire your determination. I know enough CSS to get me around changing stuff on my blog. I can’t create something from scratch, but I’m sure I could learn how if I wanted to. This summer I plan to enroll in a program to get at least three basic Microsoft Certifications which I am hoping will lead me in a new direction career-wise. I wish you only the best in your endeavours. 🙂

    Incidentally, you might not use the Spanish speaking individuals to learn from directly, but you can use them to help you hone your skills. Anyone can do that for free. 🙂

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      Good luck with your certifications. I know from talking with friends who’ve gone through the testing that it’s not an easy task. You can do it, though. 😉

      Once I learn the basics of Spanish (I took it in school when I was younger, but wasn’t allowed to continue my studies of it when I switched schools) I should be able to pick up the basic gist of the conversations I overhear at the grocery store.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  2. killdain says:

    As a senior network engineer i’m a firm believer that you can teach yourself anything. built a small server from an old PC and have at it. I speak conversational german (First wife was german) and it helps to have someone to talk to while learning. So spanish might be a little easier because you can strike up a convo just about anywhere these days. Just remember Spanish has a lot of dialect depending upon country and region of the person your talking to. but it should be fun either way. you could look for Skype pals to talk t and help you learn. the more you speak the language the better you become. Good Luck!

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      That’s a good point, too. My wife speaks French and I tried to take it in college, but the professor didn’t take into consideration that there were some people who didn’t take it in high school, so I was screwed from the start. (She decided to jump into ordering coffee instead of starting with the alphabet or basic stuff like that).

      The Skype idea is a good one. Once I build up a working familiarity, I will be investigating that in depth. Thanks, Killdain! 😀

      Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

