Poll: Do you believe in the New World Order?

A friend of mine recently commented on my Facebook profile (we were discussing yesterday’s post about Kingism is the new McCarthyism) that Peter King is a puppet for the new world order.

My first thought was that he was being paranoid and seeing a world-wide conspiracy where none exists. Here is what I was originally going to say in response to his comments:

While I agree there does seem to be a concerted effort to effect sweeping changes, I do not attribute these changes to any “New World Order” movement. Rather I attribute them to the usual seesaw movements that occur when the parties shift in power. It happened in 2000 when Bush came into office and it happened again when Obama came into office. These political and ideological shifts are, if anything, a push back against the current ruling party.

However, the more I thought about it, the more there does seem to be evidence to support his statement [of the existence of a world-wide conspiracy].

So, I thought I’d open the topic up here and see what everyone else thinks. Do you think there is a “New World Order” out there manipulating events to bring about their own idea of utopia? Answer the poll question, then, if you would, leave a comment telling me your thoughts.

As I said above, my first thought was to dismiss the idea that any group of people are/were manipulating events to fulfill their own agenda. The more I look at world events, though, the more I see what could be the fine hand of manipulation guiding the world towards some, possibly nefarious, place. Coincidences, however, have occurred before and what I am seeing could be another example of these coincidences. In short, pencil me in for a solid “Maybe.”

Where do you stand?

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Business, General, Personal, Philosophy, Politics, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Social Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poll: Do you believe in the New World Order?

  1. Skatha says:

    All politicians seek to manipulate events to fulfill their own agenda. Why do you think there’s so much pork barrel spending? If there is a secret group of men wanting to control the entire world, what’s taking them so long? They are doing a pretty crappy job of it, if you ask me. I mean this term has been around as a conspiracy theory since the 60s so why hasn’t there been a more visible move toward this utopian society? Oh, wait, that’s right, it is happening because the ideals of democracy are being spread throughout the Middle East. But don’t all peoples have the right to live the way we do without having to immigrate here?

    I’m sure there are many ways in which the U.S. Government lies to its people nearly everyday, but some cabalist theories are just non-existent.

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      Well, humans, as it was pointed out to me recently, are really good at seeing patterns where none exist. This ‘New World Order’ theory may just be another one. Honestly, I don’t know and I agree with you: What’s taking so long?

      The more insidious thought is, of course, that we are exactly where they want us to be and they are moving so slowly, because any swift movements cause things like Egypt and Libya to occur. They want to avoid any civil unrest or what-have-you, so they can forward their agenda. Sheeple are easier to control than thinking people.

      I said it before that a politicians worst nightmare is an engaged body politic. Think what would happen if everyone of voting age in the United States suddenly decided politics was worth paying attention to, instead of those insipid reality TV programs or sports. Every politician worth their salt would be out in force trying to sell their particular brand of Agenda. It’s the one thing they fear, beyond even the law.

      Were this to happen, we might see some more overt moves by this hitherto unseen ‘New World Order.’ I guess we’ll never know, though, since most people don’t care about politics and are content to let others think for them. Mores the pity, really.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

