Essential Ad-ons for Mozilla Firefox Users

I want to say, first off, and for full disclosure purposes, that I am far from an expert on computers, utilities, and other related technologies. The only reason I bring up this topic is I was on a news website run by one of the huge 24-hour cable news channels and I noticed they have an awful lot of what are called trackers there.

A tracker is used to see how much web traffic hits a particular site and the owners of that site use this information to sell ads. In most cases, these trackers are harmless and some, like WordPress’ Stats, simply count how many hits your blog gets.

If you use Mozilla Firefox, and you are paranoid about being tracked all over the internet, there is an add-on you can get called Ghostery. Ghostery is an add-on that

“[…]sees the invisible web – tags, web bugs, pixels and beacons. Ghostery tracks the trackers and gives you a roll-call of the ad networks, behavioral data providers, web publishers, and other companies interested in your activity.”

Another add-on for Firefox are Dictionary and Language Packs. Just select the language you use most, presumably English if you’re reading this, and install it. This pack has saved me a lot of time when I run across words that I have a tough time remembering how to spell. If I misspell it, it catches it. Handy for avoiding a lot of mistakes and looking like an idiot.

AdBlock Plus is another anti-ad related add-on for Firefox that I like. With it, you can block a lot of those annoying flash ads that Yahoo! seems so fond of. You know the kind I mean, brightly colored flashing lights that don’t stop and draw your eye away from the reason you are on the site in the first place? Yeah, you know what I’m talking about. I hate those ads. Can’t stand ’em. With AdBlock Plus, I don’t have to look at them as much. You get the opportunity to block them and the program creates a script that prevents the ad from running on your machine again. Handy.

Remember, the internet should be a fun place to gather information and enjoy yourself, not be deluged with ads for products you don’t want. Add these add-ons to Firefox and take control of your web experience.

Cheers!

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Blog Related, Business, Entertainment, General, Personal, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Social Observations, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Essential Ad-ons for Mozilla Firefox Users

  1. Skatha says:

    I’ve never heard of Ghostery and AdBlock Plus. I think Firefox does a pretty good job of blocking the popup ads, but to be able to block the flashy ads is even better. Those moving ads annoy me even more than SPAM. I got an iPad last month and one of the best things about it is that Adobe flash is blocked by Apple. Most people don’t like it because it means that their games are blocked as well, but I consider that a small sacrifice to make. I will definitely look into both of those addons.

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      I’ve noticed a trend, recently, though it may not be a recent trend, that most websites are flash-based. Now, that’s great, if you have a fast computer or fast internet connection. It’s hell otherwise, since flash-based apps take up a lot of system resources to run.

      Ghostery is one I started using not too long ago and I’ve used AdBlock Plus forever, it seems. It’s interesting to note that nothing exists along a similar line for Internet Explorer (that I know of. I rarely use it, anyway, so I’m not sure).

      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

