An Honest Examination of My Blogging Motivations

The reason I blog, the entire reason, is that I want to be acknowledged. That’s the bold and unvarnished truth. Blogging, like Twitter or Facebook (or any social media) is designed around the principle of the Ego Unchecked. When we post to such sites, are we really sharing important updates in our lives?

Sitting on the toilet for twenty minutes relieving yourself is not newsworthy, in my view. It’s not something you should share with your followers on Twitter. Or on Facebook. In fact, it’s a fair bet that no one on your friends list really wants to think about you moving your bowels, even under the best of circumstances.

The best use of social media is, in my view, to share those events that are truly important to you. Announcing that your wife is pregnant would be important. Announcing that you just clipped your toenails isn’t.

When I post to this blog, I have it set up to show up on my profile on Facebook. I do this, again, for the same reason I mentioned above: I want to be acknowledged that I have something important to say and someone is listening.

I’m not a good verbal communicator. People tend to interrupt me and I tend to let them. This is probably due to how I perceive my place in our society and the role I to take. I also tend to stutter and trip over my words. I get ahead of myself and when I try to correct myself, come across and bumbling and something of lackwit.

I’m not an extrovert in any sense of the word. In fact, I am a pretty typical introvert when it comes right down to it. I prefer to examine myself and my place in the world and not take part in any direct measure of it. Self-examination is probably the hardest thing to do in this life, but it is something we all have to do at some point. Some don’t go far enough, being satisfied with what society tells them to be like. Others, like me, tend to throw off what society wants and focus more on what the individual wants. Or needs.

In any event, I prefer the written word when communicating, particularly in blog form, since people cannot interrupt me when I am making a point. Sure they can pick which parts of the text they want to respond to, but, for the most part, they can’t stop me from getting my point across. Even if they ignore whole parts of what I write, it’s still there for someone else to read.

So, that’s it in a nutshell. My ego unchecked and explained. The whole reason for me to have a blog is laid bare for all to see. Do with this information what you will.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Blog Related, Entertainment, Personal, Philosophy, Social Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Honest Examination of My Blogging Motivations

  1. MythicSushi says:

    With the fact in mind that a desire to be recognized and validated is a basic part of human life, social networking makes a lot of sense.

    It’s strange, though. I’ve heard it said that technology was originally an introverted, geeky thing–i.e. the stereotype of the lonely nerd diving into the virtual world in his computer screen. Now, technology is “cool” and seems to indicate extroversion more than the old stereotypes; try to find one of the “popular kids” who isn’t seen with a Internet-connected, mini-computer cell phone with them all the time.

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      MythicSushi Wrote: “With the fact in mind that a desire to be recognized and validated is a basic part of human life, social networking makes a lot of sense.

      Yep. It feeds the ego and gives everyone a chance to have their 15 minutes of fame. Andy Worhol was almost right when he said ‘everyone has 15 minutes of fame.’ I prefer to think that everyone wants 15 minutes of fame. Social networking is a small way to accomplish this.

      It’s true, in regards to the later half of your post, that technology has been opened up to the extroverted. And this openness has allowed the rise of social networks and has fed into the ego of a million users to grab their 15 minutes. We have seen a marked decrease in respect and rational discourse, due mainly to the relative anonymity of the Internet. People are comfortable calling others names when there is little chance of any real repercussions. This has translated into the real world, to some degree.

      Please don’t misunderstand, I prefer the Internet to other forms of social interactions; I just want to be treated with respect while I am using it. I have to desire to remove what little anonymity I have remaining.

      Thank you for stopping by, MythicSushi. Hope to hear from you again.

      Regards,
      Goon

      Like

  2. Skatha says:

    I guess I blog to have a place away from my family to vent about things I cannot talk to them about in a civil manner and also in hopes of connecting with others in some way who have similar experiences. *shrugs*

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      First off, congrats on having the 600th comment here at The House of Goonery. I thank you for your continued support.

      This is an aspect of why I blog, as well. The very nature of a blog lends itself to being a place to rant and vent. I think that’s why most people have them. (Of those that have them, that is.) Whether you are ranting about idiots at work, or idiots in Congress, it’s a safe place to vent.

      It has the added benefit of being seen by others. Thus, even a place to vent is feeding into the ego’s need for acknowledgment, in my humble opinion. I know that’s why I do it, anyway.

      😉 Thanks again.

      Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

