My Definition of Happiness

Happiness is a state of mind, they say. And I guess it’s true. Some people are happy being parents to loud, screaming children and think nothing of it. Others are happy being alone for their entire lives, only connecting with others when they feel a need for personal contact. Still others are happy with some measure of both extremes.

My definition of happiness is just spending time with my wife and enjoying her company. Society puts a lot of pressure on married couples to produce children, as society thinks that’s what makes people happy. In truth, procreation is not for everyone. It’s certainly not something I ever thought I would do.

My wife and I are getting older, so we are up against biology if we want to have children one day. While I am not sold on the idea, my wife does want children. If we cannot produce one of our own, we plan to adopt.

It’s still an alien idea to me, becoming a parent. I don’t think I would be a good one, simply for the fact that I have no frame of reference. I don’t react well to children, especially younger children who don’t know when to shut up. I have no patience for it, honestly.

I’m sure there are people out there who would criticize me for not ‘fulfilling God’s commandment’ or something along those lines. In truth, I do not care what anyone else thinks about my life decisions. I don’t live my life for you, your God, or your values. I live by mine.

My happiness is living with my beautiful wife and what we chose to do, in regards to children, is our choice and ours alone.

I’m one of those people who are perfectly happy with little or no human contact for weeks or months at a time. My wife is far more social than I, a fact that, in truth, causes friction, on occasion.

But, that’s me living to my definition of happiness.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Personal, Religion, Social Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you have to add to the discussion?

