Traffic: The Lifeblood of a Blog

One of, if not the biggest, problem facing me with this blog is the lack of traffic. That is, not generating new readers. Sure, I get an occasional post from a passing reader, but nothing resembling a regular. I don’t think any of my three regular readers are around anymore. This is totally my fault, as I stopped posting here for some time.

Apologies all around.

So I was thinking of how to solve this problem. I turned to Google and typed in “how do I get more traffic to my blog” and hit enter. Of the myriad (I’ve always liked that word: myriad) sites that came up, one in particular caught my eye.

Ask Dave Taylor is a site run by (surprise!) Dave Taylor, who provides free tech support for a variety of topics. (The link above will take you to the site I needed most. Just click the picture at the top of that page to go to his homepage).

To solve the problem of more traffic, I will be posting to a variety of blogs around WordPress and the Internet. Since I blog about a variety of topics, some deeply personal, I will be reading and posting to a range of blogs. (This is slightly off from Dave’s advice of sticking to your area of interest. Since I have many areas of interest, I want to attract many types of readers. Sorry, Dave!)

Now, what does all this mean for this blog? Simply this: regular posts. Probably no more than two a week to give me time to find something to write about, as I plan to read a lot of blogs to find my muse again.

NEW FEATURES

You may notice a couple of new features here at the House of Goonery. At the bottom of the various posts, you’ll find a Tweet button. If you like the post, please share it on Twitter. I don’t use the service myself, but others do and may want to read what’s here.

Also, if you like a post, why not like the post with the like button? Give it a rating, too, if you’d be so kind.

Well, that’s all for now. Take care and I hope to see some regular readers soon.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Blog Related, Entertainment, General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you have to add to the discussion?

