The Insidious Nature of Horizontal Stripes

My wife and I just returned from Wal-Mart, as I write this, (5:07 AM 10 May) and I noticed something at Wal-Mart I wanted to post about.

We were in the womens section, looking for jeans for my wife, when I noticed a black and white striped shirt. This particular shirt is manufactured by JMS (Just My Size, for those in the male demographic who happen to be reading this). What was so odd about this shirt was the stripes were horizontal.

It’s a well known fashion no-no to wear horizontal stripes, as it makes the wearer look larger than they really are. (Again, for the male demographic.)

This sparked a thought about fashion designers and why a company who specializes in clothing for larger women would willingly design a shirt that enhances rather than reduces the size of the wearer.

The only thing I can think of is the company has a vested interest in keeping heavier women heavy so they will continue to buy their clothes. Now I am not suggesting this is the case, but it seems a tad malicious on their part to do such a thing.

Does it strike anyone else in that manner or am I simply reading too much into it?

I’d love to hear your thoughts, so please share.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Social Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you have to add to the discussion?

