Rational Discourse for the Slow Witted

I was on a message board the other day, you know the phpBB types, and I noticed the trend of people on the Internet to mangle the English language is alive and well.

Of all the trends America (and people in general) have had over the centuries, I was hoping the mangling of English and the complete failure of rational discourse was passing us by.

Now, to be clear, not everyone I meet online is a complete moron when it comes to the English language and presenting ideas clearly. There are some extremely intelligent and rational people online. I am lucky to have a few of this group as readers here, when I bother to update this blog, that is. (My apologies for not posting more often).

The vast majority, however, seem to communicate in the half formed gibberish that services like Twitter foist on the rest of us. The tag line for Twitter should read “Your life in gibberish,” as that is what it is reduced to.

I understand if English isn’t your first language, and I know it can be a hard language to grasp. However, I have no sympathy, and nothing but contempt, towards anyone who willingly destroys their own language because “its the hip thing to do.” Oh, wait. Let me write that so they can understand it: “itz da hyp thang 2 doo.” I feel dirty writing like that.

Invariably, these self same folks are the same ones who will defend this mockery by attacking those of us who prefer to read clear, concise prose designed to present an idea with supporting evidential arguments.

Here’s a tip for those who epic fail on grammar: Don’t expect to be taken seriously if you cannot (or will not) present your case in a clear, reasonable, rational manner. If you can’t (or won’t) use proper English when making such a point, don’t cry when people like me don’t take you seriously.

As it stands now, I won’t take you seriously unless you do present your ideas clearly. Until then, I shall continue to think of you as nothing but a lackwit.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Blog Related, Entertainment, Social Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rational Discourse for the Slow Witted

  1. Skatha says:

    I hope you’re not dissing LOLcats in your ranting. ;o) :oP

    Like

  2. Skatha says:

    Okay WordPress screwed up my emoticons. hmph. Bastages!!!

    Like

    • WonderGoon says:

      Sorry. What were you trying to put there? I can edit the comment, then delete these comments, so everything looks like nothing was wrong in the first place.

      That sentence does make sense. I think. It does to me, anyway.

      Goon

      Like

  3. Skatha says:

    In answer to your first comment, go here: http://icanhascheezburger.com and it’s companion site http://ihasahotdog.com.

    In answer to your second question… it screwed up my emoticons. There should’ve been a raz smiley (tongue stuck out) and a wink.

    Like

  4. awfrick says:

    Yes! A fellow language curmudgeon!

    I’ve always maintained that communication will eventually erode into grunts and clicks because of the combination of the internet and rap.

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

