What Really Matters

What really matters is good friends. Even ones you disagree with on political or religious issues should be kept close, (I think anyway).

I’ve noticed that I’ve drifted away from my friends a lot lately. Living so far away from them is difficult, but I really have no choice. Now I hear that one of my best friends might be moving to Huntsville, Alabama. Huntsville is quite a distance from me, so I don’t know how often I will get a chance to see them.

On the one hand, it makes me sad. On the other, I am happy for them, since they have an opportunity to complete their Masters degrees, (something that is extremely important to them).

So, while I will still be here, typing away on this blog, and endlessly looking for a job, they will be moving on in their lives and improving themselves. (Yes, I know, I am feeling down on myself again. Sorry.)

I just miss my friends.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Old Friends, Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Really Matters

  1. Skatha says:

    I have two friends that are here where I live that I do stuff with. But I do not confide in either of them about the things that are deep in my soul. Those friends live nowhere near me and I fear we will never live close like I long to do. The people who mean the most to me have never been geographically close. I don’t know why I always do that, but I’m not the world’s greatest at making friends. I know it may be hard to believe, but it’s true.

    As for the bit about your friends who are moving away improving themselves, you don’t really know how long it will last. They might get to where they’re going, finish their degree and not be any better off. For ages I was always ashamed to tell people what I did for a living. I spent 5 years in college and feel it was a complete waste of my time. Finishing a degree may or may not improve their career outlook. You can only try to take that step forward. What happens after is anyone’s guess.

    ((((Goon)))) Keep your chin up mate!!

    Like

  2. alantru says:

    I have two close friends who moved across the country. I miss them. But I remind myself that wherever they are, they are just a phone call or email away, and that if I needed them (and vice versa) they’d be there for me. (again, vice versa) There is strength in the bond of everlasting friendship

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

