The Unfolding Revelations of Enlightenment, Part Two

How many times have you heard the term: “Truth is relative?” If you’re like me, you’ve heard it many times. I think it’s one of those sayings that people use, but really don’t think about. I mean, really think about. What does it mean?

“Truth is relative.”

Relative to what? Or, more importantly, who? What is relativism? After a quick Internet search, I found this link to Wikipedia: Relativism. I agree with a lot of what is written there. So, I guess I’m a relativist.

For me, I apply this term to religion. For me what is truth may not be truth for you. This is okay. I don’t have a problem with you having your own belief systems or ideas about God or the Afterlife. Honestly, I don’t. I do wonder why so many other people spend so much time worrying about what other people believe though. I’ve never seen such behavior from people.

Could someone please tell me why it hurts us, as a people, to have multiple view points? I’d very much like to know.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Religion, Social Observations, Unfolding Revelations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Unfolding Revelations of Enlightenment, Part Two

  1. Kasey says:

    I would like to know as well. It seems that no one is willing to accept that others have viewpoints that might differ from our own. I thought that’s what made the world interesting. How boring would it be if we all thought alike? I just hate the personal attacks it brings about. :o(

    Like

  2. WonderGoon says:

    I agree, Kasey. There is debate, then there’ bashing someone for their beliefs. I want reasoned, open, honest debates/conversations. Not name calling and emotional battles.

    What ever happened to logic?

    Thanks for commenting.

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

