Nostradamus: Seer or Fearmonger?

I got the following email from my mother, of all people. Names have been changed to protect us.

— On Sat, 7/26/08, NULL FIELD wrote:

From: NULLFIELD
Subject: Nostradamus
To: NULLFIELD
Date: Saturday, July 26, 2008, 2:11 PM

Goon,
Have you read any of the predictions of Nostradamus? Most of his predictions have indeed come to pass just as he said. Well, it was recently brought to my attention that he predicted the Rapture would occur in 08. Some say it will take place this August. 8-8-08. Even the scientists are saying the end of the world will occur on December 21, 2008. August 8th is only 13 days away.

Love,
MotherGoon

My response to her is as follows:

MotherGoon,
You ever notice how, whenever a triple number (like 08-08-08) comes up there is a rash of predictions of the end of the world? Let’s see, the world didn’t end on 01-01-01, 02-02-02, 03-03-03, or 04-04-04, like everyone said. Likewise no end of the world on 05-05-05, or 06-06-06. I don’t recall hearing about Jesus’ reappearance on 07-07-07 either. I think it MIGHT have been mentioned.

I’m guessing He won’t appear on 08-08-08 either. I seem to recall a passage in the Bible that read (and I’m paraphrasing here), “I shall come as a thief in the night and no man (presumably this includes Nostradomus) will know in advance.” (No, I don’t know the actual book or verse, though I believe its in Revelations.)

In other words, this is just hype to distract you from whats really important. So don’t get caught up in it. It’s crap. Okay?

~Goon

P.S.- Incidently, whoever is sending this “information” out is FEARMONGERING. He or She is creating TERROR. Don’t be a party to it. You are SMARTER than that.
—End of Email—

THE FOLLOWING PARAGRAPHS ARE MY FURTHER THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT

What is it about this Nostradamus character than snookers so many people into believing his “predictions?” Are we that starved for news of the future that we have to invent things to believe in?

Nostradamus, I feel, was a crackpot who’s gotten MUCH more attention than he deserves. His “predictions” are nothing more than a fanciful distraction meant as “entertainment,” and poor entertainment at that.

So, no. I don’t believe in Nostradamus’ predictions. No one knows the future, because nothing has been written yet. We create the future by our actions. We cannot gaze into the future. If we could, I would’ve won the Lottery a LONG time ago.

Trust me.

I’d like to open this topic up for discussion. How many of you reading this believe in Nostradamus’ predictions and how many of you take the opposite belief? Do you believe in some of them? Or is belief in the works of Nostradamus an either/or proposition (you either believe or don’t)?

Goon

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Social Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you have to add to the discussion?

