At the Crossroads of Infinity, Prolouge

This is the first of a series of entries dealing with my growing spirituality. These posts are designed with a “evolving thoughts” theme, meaning I am using this space to get my thoughts in order and come up with a solid foundation to stand on for my continued spiritual development. What I say here will change and will do so without notice or apology.

I find myself at something of a crossroads when it comes to my Spirituality. Currently I describe myself as an “Eclectic Pagan.” But what does that mean? I mean, really mean? Does this mean I am free to choose my own path, blending other religions/paths together and creating a whole new religion only for myself? (Which, by implication, says I either have no respect for established religions or I’m wishy-washy about commiting to anything. I don’t know.) Or does it mean I simply haven’t found the “right” religion for me?

It’s interesting that I put right in quotations, isn’t it? What did I mean when I did that? It was not a concious choice.

I like some of the stuff in Buddhism. Lots of positive things there. I like the idea of Shamanism. Getting in touch with the spiritworld and taking a holistic approach to medicine and spirituality is very attractive to me. I also like some stuff from Wicca, and for much the same reason as Shamanism.

I know that I am not 100% Buddhist, Shaman, or Wiccan. So, truthfully, I cannot describe myself in any of those terms. Am I at the cusp of creating something new? Something which incorporates all three (and more!) paths? Or am I just confused?

Let’s pretend I am creating a new religion/belief system/path. Let’s start on the ground floor. What would the core tenets of this path be? Who would I worship? What sort of salvation could I look forward to for the afterlife?

I’ll start with the first question. What would the core tenets of this path be? Whatever they are, I want them to be uplifting. There is enough negativity in the world to add to it. I want to practice a religion where there is hope, joy, and a positive message behind it. I don’t want to dwell on the negative crap we, as humans, accumulate in our lives. Yes, I know such negativity exists, and it has its place, but I want to focus on the positive.

Honestly, I wonder if that’s even possible. Positive and negative energy is a natural state of things. Positive and negative charges, good and evil, black and white. It’s all the same thing, isn’t it?

Hmmm. Perhaps before I begin to define what my religion truly is, I have to do some research. Next stop, the library.

OTHER POSTS IN THIS SERIES
Previous: None
Next: At the Crossroads of Infinity, The Basics


Over the next few posts, I’ll be exploring this topic. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to comment. Feedback is always welcome.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Crossroads. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At the Crossroads of Infinity, Prolouge

  1. username79 says:

    I think you and I are in the same age group, and our generation is just a tad bit obsessed with labeling. Spirituality isn’t like checking a box for your political party, it’s much more complicated than that. That’s how we get so many “sub-religions” (Baptist, Celtic Wiccan, etc.). What I’m rambling on about is: Don’t try so hard to find your category, and just concentrate on your spirituality. Just because you don’t fit any religious doctrine doesn’t mean that your beliefs are any less valid.

    Like

  2. WonderGoon says:

    Oh I don’t think they are less valid, by any stretch of the imagination. I just feel like defining, once and for all, what I believe.

    Labels do get in the way, I agree. But, I also think labels can be very useful. It cuts through a lot of crap to say “I am X,” than to have to explain it to someone. People today are interested in quick, eight-second or less sound bites. They don’t have the attention span for anyting longer. So, using a label solves a lot of problems.

    I’d like the label I chose to be somewhat acurate.

    Make sense?

    Thanks for your input.

    Like

  3. spikeq1love says:

    If I choose it, is it still a label?
    Or a way of finding my tribe or tribes?

    Sounds like the beginning of an excellent series and possibly a book?

    spike

    Like

  4. WonderGoon says:

    Spike said: “If I choose it, is it still a label? Or a way of finding my tribe or tribes?”

    I think so. The difference is I’ve chosen to have this label, as opposed to someone labeling me with one that doesn’t fit. As I said to Username, I want that label, whichever I chose to have, to fit and be acurate.

    I think labels do help us to find our tribe(s). It gives roadsigns so people of like minds a chance to network.

    If a label helps me to find someone who can teach me, or whom I can teach, then the labels have done their job. Make sense?

    As to the idea of a book, I don’t know. When I sat down and concieved of this series, I wasn’t thinking of a book deal. I was looking for a way to order my thoughts and finally establish my spirituality.

    Now, if I write enough material to fill out a small book, and if I can convince a publisher to look at it, great. But it is absolutely not a priority to write a book at this time.

    Thanks so much for the input.

    Goon

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

