The Scariest Movie I’ve Ever Seen

If you are a fan of horror movies, then you need to watch Jesus Camp. The film is actually a documentry directed by Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady. The film follows several children, all of which are Evangelical Christians as they attend Jesus Camp, a week long camp designed to promote the Christian faith, and Evangelical political goals.

The most disturbing scenes in the film, to me, are when the children are instructed to give praise to a cardboard cutout of President Bush. They fall to their knees in abject worship of the image of Bush, and almost regard him as the (not “a,” but THE) Messaiah.

The other scene was when the children were chanting religiously themed sayings. For a split second, I thought I was watching news footage of Middle Eastern protesters, you know the ones: where they burn an American flag and chant “Death to America” over and over again?

It was a very Orwellian moment where the end of Animal Farm suddenly rang true.

Evangelical Christians apparently sing a Pledge of Allegience to the Christian flag, and not the American flag! This, to me, is profoundly disturbing.

I don’t think the producers were wanting to create a horror film, but this is where I would classify it. Yes, it was a documentry. It is the subject matter which creates and sustains the horror throughout the film. This is not to say the production values are low. Quite the contrairy. They are quite high. The film is excellently edited and directed. Both directors did a fine job presenting the subject matter in a way which produced an emotional response.

Boy, did it ever.

I think every Pagan should see the film. In fact, I think every American should see the film. I think it presents a clear picture of Evangelical Christianity, and the dangers of brainwashing America’s youth.

At one point, the children were talking about dieing for Jesus and “the cause.” Language not unlike the 9/11 hijackers and radical Islamic terrorists.

Think about that.

Information about the movie can be found here: Jesus Camp

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Scariest Movie I’ve Ever Seen

  1. Aerohstotle says:

    I actually just saw this movie like last week. It made me cringe. It was really hard to watch

    Like

  2. Jodi_K says:

    I saw this as well and agree…this is some creepy shit!

    Like

  3. fenixmage says:

    I own this movie and show it to as many Pagans as I can! As much as we are accused of “indoctrinating” children, then for that woman to turn around and say, “yes, we (the Christians) are indoctrinating our children,” it’s fanatical, hypocritical, and just downright scary.

    On a side note, the families from Missouri in the movie are just a couple of hours up the road from me. I have a dear friend that can sit through it and point out the landmarks on the way to St. Louis, where her family lives.

    Like

  4. WonderGoon says:

    Hi Fenix. You know, I actually thought of you when I was watching the film. I knew you were from Missouri, and I was wondering what you thought of it. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  5. gina says:

    goddess spare the children…please

    Like

  6. username79 says:

    This showed on A&E last night. I could only watch a few scenes of it and had to change the channel.

    Like

  7. WonderGoon says:

    Yeah, I spotted it as well. I watched a bit of it, but I couldn’t stomach it again.

    Goon

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

