We Win!

I am very happy. The Boston Red Sox have defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-0 to complete a series sweep and clinch their second World Series title in four years.

I originally made the prediction that the Sox would clinch the title in six games. Boy, was I wrong! After an eight day layoff, the Rockies bats were virtually silent throughout the Series. Colorado manager Clint Hurdle downplayed the layoff, but there is little doubt it affected the team in some small way.

The Rockies won 21 of their last 22 games and swept the Philidelphia Phillies and the Arizona Diamondbacks to get into their first World Series appearance in franchise history.

Boston won their seventh title, the last in 2004, ending an 86 year drought.

Here’s hoping they can repeat in 2008.

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We Win!

  1. SylverStar says:

    My boyfriend thought it would go the whole seven games. Some sort of advertising conspiracy theory for the networks. My son swore they would sweep. I prayed they would sweep…baseball was starting to get in the way of my football season! And once again…
    The Red Sox have won 2…count them 1…2 World Series this century. Yankees???? ZEEEEERRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. WonderGoon says:

    LOL!! My wife also predicted a sweep. I figured the Rockies would put up more of a fight, as they are a good team. I was surprised at the quickness of it.

    Thanks for posting in my blog.

    WG

    Like

What do you have to add to the discussion?

