On Ignorance

This is a cross-post from The Rant of the Disenfranchised.

So my wife and I took my mother to the mall today. My mother is in her late 50’s and sometimes she has trouble walking. We got her a wheelchair and I pushed her around in the chair while we visited the various shops. While in Bed, Bath, and Beyond, several inconsiderate female shoppers took the almost perverse liberty of starring at my mother as if she were from some far flung world and not human. Others simply looked away and refused to acknowledge our presence.

One “lady,” and I use the term loosely, PUSHED her way past us without so much as a glance back. She held her head in such a way to make me think she thought she was royalty.

There was no difference between the races, as far as reactions went. If anything, it was more pronounced from the African-American community.

This really drove the point home for me about how I look at the disabled. Even though I was not in that chair, I was, by association, guilty in the eyes of society of being invisible. And while I don’t mind if people slight me, as I will allow most things to slide off me, I DO NOT like people treating my mother as if she were less than human.

Not everyone who lives in Douglasville, Georgia is a self-centered egomaniac. But most are.

And I blame the people of Douglasville, Georgia for being a slurly, self-centered, egomaniacal lot who only think of their own well-being. They are as children pretending to be humans. And poorly at that!

If you have a problem with this statement, I suggest you get over it. This statement is protected by the First Amendment of the Constitution of the United States and the ACLU is on my speed dial.

Push the issue.

Please!

About WonderGoon

WonderGoon is seeking enlightenment and questions everything.
This entry was posted in Social Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you have to add to the discussion?

